This Lil Piglet

Top 5 Summer Reading List for Teen Boys

The time where our kids scream “School’s Out!” is growing nearer by the minute. Summer will be full of fun moments and exciting adventures.  With all those summer plans about to be underway, have you thought of the days where bordom kicks in on a stretch of rainy days? Having 13 year old boy avid reader, I didn’t have to search too hard for a list of books on the menu this summer.  Here are the top 5 books/series from a teen boys point of view:


Hunger Games Trilogy

Age level: 12 and up


Hunger Games (Book 1) – In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, “The Hunger Games,” a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed.

*The other 2 books are not described here; click the image for more details.


The Kane Chronicles Box Set

Age level: 10 and up


The Kane Chronicles is a series of novels by Rick Riordan. Based on Egyptian mythology, the story follows characters Carter and Sadie Kane in their quest to discover the truth about their family, and save the world. It is set in the modern day United States and United Kingdom, in the same universe as Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians and The Heroes of Olympus. It is similar to the Camp Half-Blood series, but has a darker and more serious tone. The first book, The Red Pyramid, was released on May 4, 2010. The second, The Throne of Fire, followed on May 4, 2011. The third and last volume, The Serpent’s Shadow, was released on May 1, 2012. The novels are narrated alternately by the two protagonists, siblings Carter and Sadie Kane, who discover that they are part of a magical line descended from Pharaohs Narmer and Ramses the Great. They learn of the existence of Egyptian gods and goddesses, and mythical beings such as magicians and shabti.



Age level: 13 and up


When Marcus moves to a new town in the dead of summer, he doesn’t know a soul. While practicing football for impending tryouts, he strikes up an unlikely friendship with an older man. Charlie is a charismatic prankster—and the best football player Marcus has ever seen. He can’t believe his good luck when he finds out that Charlie is actually Charlie Popovich, or “the King of Pop,” as he had been nicknamed during his career as an NFL linebacker. But that’s not all. There is a secret about Charlie that his own family is desperate to hide.

When Marcus begins school, he meets the starting quarterback on the team: Troy Popovich. Right from the beginning, Marcus and Troy disagree—about football, about Troy’s ex-girlfriend, Alyssa, but most of all, about what’s good for Charlie. Marcus is betting that he knows what’s best for the King of Pop. And he is willing to risk everything to help his friend.


 The Heros of Olympus SetBook 3 set to come out  in the fall of this year.

Age level: 10 and up


The Lost Hero (Book 1) – Jason has a problem. He doesn’t remember anything before waking up on a school bus holding hands with a girl. Apparently she’s his girlfriend Piper, his best friend is a kid named Leo, and they’re all students in the Wilderness School, a boarding school for “bad kids.” What he did to end up here, Jason has no idea—except that everything seems very wrong.

Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, and her vivid nightmares reveal that he’s in terrible danger. Now her boyfriend doesn’t recognize her, and when a freak storm and strange creatures attack during a school field trip, she, Jason, and Leo are whisked away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood. What is going on? 

Leo has a way with tools. His new cabin at Camp Half-Blood is filled with them. Seriously, the place beats Wilderness School hands down, with its weapons training, monsters, and fine-looking girls. What’s troubling is the curse everyone keeps talking about, and that a camper’s gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist they are all—including Leo—related to agod. 

Rick Riordan, the best-selling author of the Percy Jackson series, pumps up the action and suspense in The Lost Hero, the first book in The Heroes of Olympus series.  Fans of demi-gods, prophesies, and quests will be left breathless–and panting for Book Two.

*The other book is not described here; click the image for more details.


Fablehaven 5 Novel Box Set

Age level: 8 and up


Book 1 Rise of the Evening Star – At the end of the school year, Kendra and her brother Seth find themselves racing back to Fablehaven, a refuge for mythical and magical creatures. Grandpa Sorenson, the caretaker, invites three specialists — a potion master, a magical relics collector, and a mystical creature trapper — to help protect the property from the Society of the Evening Star, an ancient organization determined to infiltrate the preserve and steal a hidden artifact of great power. Time is running out. The Evening Star is storming the gates. If the artifact falls into the wrong hands, it could mean the downfall of other preserves and possibly the world. Will Kendra learn to use her fairy gifts in time? Will Seth stay out of trouble?

*The other 4 books are not described here; click the image for more details.


I think my son might live in a world of fiction but he will literally have his nose buried in these books until the complete series is finished.  If you are looking for some great reads to keep your son (or daughter, is she is into these types of books) occupied this summer, any of these will be perfect.



Happy Reading!


2 comments on “Top 5 Summer Reading List for Teen Boys”

  1. Thanks for the great titles! I agree with Hunger Games and Percy Jackson…haven’t heard of the Fablehaven series, so we’ll give it a try!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.